Who Controlled The Senate In 2012?

Which party controlled the Senate 2012?


Who controlled the House and Senate in 2013?

113th United States CongressSenate MajorityDemocraticSenate PresidentJoe Biden (D)House MajorityRepublicanHouse SpeakerJohn Boehner (R)6 more rows

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2009?

111th United States CongressSenate PresidentDick Cheney (R) (until January 20, 2009) Joe Biden (D) (from January 20, 2009)House MajorityDemocraticHouse SpeakerNancy Pelosi (D)Sessions6 more rows

Who controlled the Senate in 2008?

Going into these elections, the Senate consisted of 49 Democrats, 49 Republicans, and two Independents who caucused with the Democrats, giving the Democratic caucus the slightest 51–49 majority. Of the seats up for election in 2008, 23 were held by Republicans and 12 by Democrats.

Why is the Senate majority leader so powerful?

The leaders serve as spokespersons for their party’s positions on issues. The majority leader schedules the daily legislative program and fashions the unanimous consent agreements that govern the time for debate.

Who becomes the Senate majority leader?

Currently, the majority leader of the United States Senate is Chuck Schumer, who assumed this position on January 20th, after Jon Ossoff and Raphael Warnock succeeded David Perdue and Kelly Loeffler, respectively.

How are the Senate leaders chosen?

The floor leaders and whips of each party are elected by a majority vote of all the senators of their party assembled in a conference or, as it sometimes is called, a caucus. … The majority and minority leaders are the elected spokespersons on the Senate floor for their respective political parties.

Who controlled the House of Representatives in 2012?

Who held Senate majority in 2012?

Who controlled the Senate in 2010?

Despite the Republican gains, the Democrats retained a majority of the Senate with 51 seats plus the two independents who caucused with them, compared to the 47 Republican seats. As of 2021, this is the last time Republicans won U.S. Senate seats in Illinois and New Hampshire.

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2010?

Democrats controlled the 111th Congress (2009–2011) with majorities in both houses of Congress alongside the country’s first African-American president, Democrat Barack Obama.

Who controlled the Senate in 2016?

2016 United States Senate electionsLeaderMitch McConnellHarry Reid (retired)PartyRepublicanDemocraticLeader’s seatKentuckyNevadaSeats before5444Seats after524620 more rows

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2012?

Democratic President Barack Obama won election to a second term, though the Republican Party retained control of the House of Representatives. Obama defeated Republican nominee Mitt Romney to win a second term, taking 51.1 percent of the popular vote and 332 of the 538 electoral votes.

Who won the Senate in 2014?

The Republicans regained the majority of the Senate in the 114th Congress, which started in January 2015; the Republicans had not controlled the Senate since January 2007. They needed a net gain of at least six seats to obtain a majority and were projected by polls to do so.

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2014?

How many states did Romney win 2012?

Romney carried six states, Santorum carried three, and Gingrich won only in his home state of Georgia.

Who was in office in 2012?

The following is a timeline of the Presidency of Barack Obama, from January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012.

Add a comment