Quick Answer: Who Was The First Speaker Of Legislative Assembly?

Who is the first Vidhan Sabha Speaker?

List of speakersSl.No.SpeakerTenure1V.

Venkatappa26.01.1952 to 17.06.19522H.

Siddaiah18.06.1952 to 14.05.19543H.


Rudrappa13.10.1954 to 01.11.19564S.


Kanthi19.12.1956 to 09.03.196219 more rows.

Who was the first woman member of parliament in India?

Annie Mascarene (6 June 1902 – 19 July 1963) was an Indian independence activist and politician from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala who served as a Member of Parliament.

Which place is called Oxford of West Bengal?

Also known as Naodah, this historic city is located in the Nadia district of West Bengal. The erstwhile stronghold of Bengal’s Sena dynasty rulers, it was once a revered and renowned seat of knowledge and spiritual wisdom. It is this phenomenal legacy that has earned Nabadwip the sobriquet ‘Oxford of Bengal’.

Who is MLA of West Bengal?

Current membersSLConstituencyMLA3Cooch Behar UttarSukumar Roy4Cooch Behar DakshinNikhil Ranjan Dey5SitalkuchiBaren Chandra Barman6SitaiJagadish Chandra Barma Basunia104 more rows

Who is the first woman speaker of Lok Sabha?

Meira Kumar (born 31 March 1945) is an Indian politician and former diplomat.

Who was the first woman speaker?

Shanno Devi (born 1 June 1901) was an Indian politician was the first woman speaker of a State Assembly in India. She was member of the Indian National Congress from the state of Punjab.

Who are legislative in India?

Legislature of the Union, which is called Parliament, consists of the President and two Houses, known as Council of States (Rajya Sabha) and House of the People (Lok Sabha). Each House has to meet within six months of its previous sitting. A joint sitting of two Houses can be held in certain cases.

Who is the Speaker of Legislature Assembly?

State Legislative AssembliesState/UTSpeakerPartyKarnataka (list)Vishweshwar Hegde KageriBJPKeralaM. B. RajeshCPI(M)Madhya Pradesh (list)Rameshwar SharmaBJPMaharashtra (list)Narhari Sitaram Zirwal (acting)NCP27 more rows

Who is the first Speaker of Legislative Assembly in Uttar Pradesh?

The first Speaker of Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly, Rajarshi Shri Purushottam Das Tandon announced in the House that since this library will provide service to members of both Houses, therefore the name of this library should be “Vidhan Pustakalaya.” In this way the present name of this library is ‘Vidhan …

Who is the Rajya Sabha speaker 2020?

Rajya SabhaChairman (Vice President of India)Muppavarapu Venkaiah Naidu since 11 August 2017Deputy ChairmanHarivansh Narayan Singh, JD(U) since 14 September 2020Secretary GeneralDesh Deepak Verma, IAS since 1 September 2017Leader of the HouseThawar Chand Gehlot, BJP since 11 June 201927 more rows

What is called Legislative Assembly?

Legislative assembly is the name given in some countries to either a legislature, or to one of its houses. The name is used by a number of countries, including member-states of the Commonwealth of Nations and other countries.

How many MLA are there in Assam?

It is housed in Guwahati, the capital city of Assam, geographically situated in present Western Assam region. The Legislative Assembly comprises 126 Members of Legislative Assembly, directly elected from single-seat constituencies.

How many nominated members are there in state legislative assembly?

The Constitution of India states that a State Legislative Assembly must have no less than 60 and no more than 500 members however an exception may be granted via an Act of Parliament as is the case in the states of Goa, Sikkim, Mizoram and the union territory of Puducherry which have fewer than 60 members.

Which state has the largest number of members in Vidhan Sabha?

The biggest state, Uttar Pradesh, has 404 members in its Assembly. States which have small populations and are small in size have a provision for having an even lesser number of members in the Legislative Assembly. Puducherry has 33 members.

Who was the first Speaker of West Bengal Legislative Assembly?

List of speakers of the West Bengal Legislative AssemblySpeaker of West Bengal Legislative AssemblyPrecursorSpeaker of Bengal Legislative Assembly (British India)Formation1950First holderIshwar Das Jalan (21 November 1947—19 June 1952)DeputyDeputy Speaker of West Bengal Legislative Assembly (Vacant)11 more rows

Who is the current Vidhan Sabha Speaker?

Om Birla of the Bharatiya Janata Party is the current Speaker who presides over the 17th Lok Sabha.

Who is current Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker?

Deputy Speaker of the Lok SabhaDeputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha Lok Sabhā UpādhyakṣaFlag of IndiaIncumbent Vacant since 23 June 2019StyleThe HonourableAppointerMembers of the Lok Sabha6 more rows

Who is the speaker of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha?

Parliament of IndiaParliament of India Bhāratīya SansadLeader of the House (Rajya Sabha)Thawar Chand Gehlot, BJP since 11 June 2019Leader of the Opposition (Rajya Sabha)Mallikarjun Kharge, INC since 15 February 2021Speaker of the Lok SabhaOm Birla, BJP since 19 June 201934 more rows

Who selects MLA?

From each constituency, the people elect one representative who then becomes a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA). You would have noticed that people stand for elections in the name of different parties. These MLAs, therefore, belong to different political parties.

What is the other name for Legislative Assembly?

Under this system, the state’s legislature is divided into two parts – Legislative Assembly or Vidhan Sabha and Legislative Council or Vidhan Parishad.

Who is the Protem Speaker of Lok Sabha 2019?

Virendra Kumar sworn in as Protem Speaker of 17th Lok Sabha. President Ram Nath Kovind on Monday, sworn in seven-term member of Parliament Virendra Kumar as the Protem Speaker of Lok Sabha.

Add a comment