Quick Answer: Who Controlled The House And Senate In 2008?

Who had control of the Senate in 2008?

2008 United States Senate electionsLeaderHarry ReidMitch McConnellPartyDemocraticRepublicanLeader’s seatNevadaKentuckySeats before4949Seats after574120 more rows.

Who controlled the House in 2008?

2008 United States House of Representatives electionsLeaderNancy PelosiJohn BoehnerPartyDemocraticRepublicanLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2003January 3, 2007Leader’s seatCalifornia 8thOhio 8thLast election233 seats, 52.3%202 seats, 44.3%8 more rows

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2009?

Democrats controlled the 111th Congress (2009–2011) with majorities in both houses of Congress alongside the country’s first African-American president, Democrat Barack Obama.

Who has the House and Senate in 2008?

110th United States CongressSenate MajorityDemocraticSenate PresidentDick Cheney (R)House MajorityDemocraticHouse SpeakerNancy Pelosi (D)6 more rows

Who controlled the Senate in 2010?

In the 2010 midterm elections, the Republican Party won the majority in the House of Representatives. While the Democrats kept their Senate majority, it was reduced from the previous Congress.

Who controlled the Senate in 2012?

Senate elections The Democrats ended up retaining majority control of the Senate, picking up two net seats. One of the Democratic winners was Wisconsin’s Tammy Baldwin, who became the first openly LGBT member of the US Senate.

Who controlled the Senate in 2013?

It first met in Washington, D.C. on January 3, 2013, and it ended on January 3, 2015. Senators elected to regular terms in 2008 were in the last two years of those terms during this Congress. The Senate had a Democratic majority, while the House had a Republican majority.

Who controlled Senate in 2014?

The 2014 elections gave the Republicans control of the Senate and the House for the first time since the 109th Congress. With 248 seats in the House of Representatives and 54 seats in the Senate, this Congress began with the largest Republican majority since the 71st Congress of 1929–1931.

When was the last supermajority in Congress?

It was the first time either party held a filibuster-proof 60% super majority in both the Senate and House chambers since the 89th United States Congress in 1965, and last time until the 111th United States Congress in 2009.

Who controlled the House in 2012?

2012 United States House of Representatives electionsLeaderJohn BoehnerNancy PelosiPartyRepublicanDemocraticLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2007January 3, 2003Leader’s seatOhio 8thCalifornia 12thLast election242 seats, 51.7%193 seats, 44.9%7 more rows

Who was the majority leader in 2008?

Majority and Minority LeadersCongressMajority Leader109th Congress (2005–2007)William H. Frist (R-TN) 29110th Congress (2007–2009)Harry Reid (D-NV)111th Congress (2009–2011)Harry Reid (D-NV)112th Congress (2011–2013)Harry Reid (D-NV)48 more rows