Question: Who Controlled The House In 2008?

Who was in charge of the House in 2008?

110th United States CongressHouse MajorityDemocraticHouse SpeakerNancy Pelosi (D)Sessions1st: January 4, 2007 – December 19, 2007 2nd: January 3, 2008 – January 3, 20096 more rows.

Did the Democrats have control of the House and Senate in 2008?

In the November 2008 elections, the Democratic Party increased its majorities in both chambers (including – when factoring in the two Democratic caucusing independents – a brief filibuster-proof 60-40 supermajority in the Senate), and with Barack Obama being sworn in as President on January 20, 2009, this gave a …

Who was House majority leader in 2016?

Majority Leaders of the House (1899 to present)Congress and YearsNameParty113th (2013–2015)MCCARTHY, Kevin 13Republican114th (2015–2017)MCCARTHY, KevinRepublican115th (2017–2019)MCCARTHY, KevinRepublican116th (2019–2021)HOYER, Steny HamiltonDemocrat64 more rows

Who controlled the Senate in 2010?

Despite the Republican gains, the Democrats retained a majority of the Senate with 51 seats plus the two independents who caucused with them, compared to the 47 Republican seats. As of 2021, this is the last time Republicans won U.S. Senate seats in Illinois and New Hampshire.

Who controlled the Senate in 2012?

Senate elections The Democrats ended up retaining majority control of the Senate, picking up two net seats. One of the Democratic winners was Wisconsin’s Tammy Baldwin, who became the first openly LGBT member of the US Senate.

Who controlled House in 2016?

2016 United States House of Representatives electionsLeaderPaul RyanNancy PelosiPartyRepublicanDemocraticLeader sinceOctober 29, 2015January 3, 2003Leader’s seatWisconsin 1stCalifornia 12thLast election247 seats, 51.2%188 seats, 45.5%7 more rows

Who controlled the House and Senate in 2008?

Democrats controlled the 111th Congress (2009–2011) with majorities in both houses of Congress alongside the country’s first African-American president, Democrat Barack Obama.

Who controlled the Senate in 2008?

Going into these elections, the Senate consisted of 49 Democrats, 49 Republicans, and two Independents who caucused with the Democrats, giving the Democratic caucus the slightest 51–49 majority. Of the seats up for election in 2008, 23 were held by Republicans and 12 by Democrats.

Who was majority leader in 2008?

Majority and Minority LeadersCongressMajority Leader109th Congress (2005–2007)William H. Frist (R-TN) 29110th Congress (2007–2009)Harry Reid (D-NV)111th Congress (2009–2011)Harry Reid (D-NV)112th Congress (2011–2013)Harry Reid (D-NV)48 more rows

Who controlled the House in 2012?

2012 United States House of Representatives electionsLeaderJohn BoehnerNancy PelosiPartyRepublicanDemocraticLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2007January 3, 2003Leader’s seatOhio 8thCalifornia 12thLast election242 seats, 51.7%193 seats, 44.9%7 more rows

Who won the House in 2008?

2008 United States House of Representatives electionsLeaderNancy PelosiJohn BoehnerPartyDemocraticRepublicanLeader sinceJanuary 3, 2003January 3, 2007Leader’s seatCalifornia 8thOhio 8thLast election233 seats, 52.3%202 seats, 44.3%8 more rows

Add a comment